Skip to content

THE WEDDING VENUE ISSUE – :’p

October 30, 2009

Buckling Under the Pressure. I’m here, i’m finally in this phase!! A few months ago I already got my wedding date.  :) :) And boy, I’ve never been happier!

Even before that, i’ve already messed around in divisoria and at some wedding fairs trying to find the best deals on prospective suppliers.  I already have a couple in mind but s.o.p. dictates I should look around for comparisons anyway.  Now i’m on my wits’ end trying to decide where my venues should be. The very first things you should handle are venues, but now I can’t even assert on a church and reception.  So far my choices are these:

ALTA GUIA – STA. ANA CHURCH (TAGUIG) – ALTA GUIA / LAKEVIEW / VILLA GLORIA
My in-laws’ choice.  Though Sta. Ana – Taguig is a fine church (which also reminds me of my childhood church, Sta Ana Church – Manila), this combination means a 20k difference compared to my other choices.  The fact that there’s no major road near the venues is gonna give my non-Taguig guests difficulty reaching it; that bothers me the most.
Pros:
Large parking space, near my h2b’s residence, photo op spots beside the church
Cons: 20k price difference, traffic possibilities on way to church, church and reception locations tricky to find for non-locale, going from church to reception a hassle to those with no private transport

archdiocesan shrine of santa ana - taguig

archdiocesan shrine of santa ana - taguig (gilbert and lorna)

GREAT EASTERN HOTEL – OUR LADY OF GUADALUPE – GREAT EASTERN
I was never really considering this option since Great Eastern has earned quite a reputation, but when I started canvassing, I found that they ARE the cheapest option, even cheaper than catering. And the food IS good, no problem with that.  It is not the handsomest of hotels, of course, but with a tight budget, I’m tempted.  And like other hotel wedding packages, you get free hotel stay, bridal car, and venue included in the package. Lots of fees I overlooked though.
Our Lady of Guadalupe on the other hand, is my 90% choice a couple of months ago.  Aside from ventilation, this venue is perfect enough for me.  A block or two away from EDSA.

Pros: The cheapest option: you can have a 100pax reception with venue for give or take 40k, plus car and prep venue. Very accessible to any party; near Ayala, Mandaluyong, EDSA, Buendia.
Cons: Floral and table setup too simple. Extra 8k for extra floral setup, 3.5k or so for decent sound system, function room dependent on your budget, corkage fees for cake, sound, photovid, etc.  Shoot…

baluyot mansion ain't a bad choice (feat handsome groom sir dick)

baluyot mansion ain't a bad choice (feat handsome groom sir dick)


BALUYOT/GRAND VILLA/GREAT EASTERN – MATER DOLOROSA – MAKATI PARK

For the first time, me and my noril have found a consensus!! He finds this setup acceptable.  Though Mater Dolorosa has zero percent outdoor photo-op, the fact that it’s a midway venue between Taguig and Makati is a plus. An airconditioned church is of course a plus for a groom who wishes to don a coat and tie. Makati Park is a steal and I can’t find the heart to let go of it.  Best of all, it’s a bit easy to find being near the intersection of C5, JP Rizal, Kalayaan. Some guests can even ride a PUJ to and from the church.
Pros: Accessible to both parties.  Easy ride to many guests.  Makati Park lots of parking space and security. Mater Dolorosa very comfortable if airconditioned.
Cons: Our 2nd most expensive option (urgghhh aircon aircon!!); no photo ops outside church, limited parking space at Mater Dolorosa, might be forced to pay 2 timeslots at Makati park if reception is after lunch. (Catering will allowed into the pavilion at 1pm.)

Urggh… any tips?? I’m dying to get them!! Will keep you guys posted. :) Ciao!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. chepot permalink
    November 3, 2009 6:06 am

    hi,

    i am planning to have my baby’s baptismal at great eastern hotel in quezon city…
    you mentioned here na me corkage fees and cake and photo/video.
    if you dont mind can i know how much?

    Thanks!

    -chepot

    • carladi permalink*
      November 3, 2009 9:07 am

      hello chepot! i’ve inquired their makati hotel but i think the rates are the same. you hv to pay 1000 and 600 for corkage fees on photo-vid on prep and reception, respctively. forgot about the cake though, cake included in the pckage is the icing type, u hv to add P2665 to upgrade to a 3-layer fondant cake.tc!

  2. Joh permalink
    January 14, 2012 3:27 pm

    Hi, I just wonder where you ended up on church and reception? Im having same scenario today. This was a great help. Thanks.

    • carladi permalink*
      January 16, 2012 8:26 am

      hello there joh! After balancing the pros and cons, we finally settled on choosing Mater Dolorosa in Makati and Makati Park & Gardens. best choices overall in my opinion :) what’s in your shortlist so far? happy preps! :) glad it helped ;)

      • Joh permalink
        January 16, 2012 8:35 am

        In my List is STA. ANA CHURCH (TAGUIG) / VILLA MONICA (PATEROS)
        My case only is wedding proper starts at 330 and maybe end approx 430. Guest can only enter the venue 6pm wich may cause irrations to our guest. Travel time from Chuch to the reception will be minimum 15 min travel time.

      • carladi permalink*
        January 16, 2012 9:35 am

        no worries i think. a wedding ceremony usually runs around 1.5hrs, depending how long the sermon is. as i remember sta ana gives a moderate length of sermon. give or take 30mins for group pictorial and travel time to villa monica. guests shud b der 5:15, the couple 5:30pm (kc may shoot:P). talga? last time we shot villa monica hindi nman mahigpit s time, dyahe nman kung gnun :P

      • joh permalink
        January 16, 2012 1:36 pm

        I just hope.. it will last long than 430… weekend wedding date nmin.. lil more peak. Were looking for more options. I really don’t want my guest to wait long.. :)

  3. Joh permalink
    January 14, 2012 3:28 pm

    Hope to hear from you soon :)

  4. Ann permalink
    May 27, 2012 12:47 am

    do you have B mansion’s contact number?

    • litzv permalink*
      June 1, 2012 12:35 pm

      hello ann! not sure if this is updated, 882-3705 :) happy preps!

  5. hashey permalink
    November 4, 2012 12:16 pm

    I’m now in the same dilemma as you were.. But thanks to you, Makati Park it is,, :)

    • litzv permalink*
      April 19, 2013 2:39 am

      glad to hear that,
      hope ur wedding went well :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

